top of page

Crystal Palace vs Grimsby town match review

Updated: Aug 4, 2023

Hello everyone hope you all well,

On Saturday 5th of January 2019 I attended the FA cup third round game Crystal Palace vs Grimsby town along with my PA Vicki. The game was pretty boring as only 1 goal was scored, palace didn’t play their best but luckily got a win to put them through to the next round. We didn't put our strongest team out as the players needed resting but they still came to support their team. The atmosphere was good like every match except this time the away fan had a whole stand to themselves as they bought 5,500 fans making them extra loud, but the palace fans still sang their hearts out. We had a total of 33 shots with only 8 on target. The final score was 1-0 the goal was scored by Jordan Ayew in the 86th minute and assisted by Jeffery Schlupp, it was a header from a free kick that he had previously won. In my opinion Jordan Ayew should have been started to give him more confidence after scoring in the previous game. In the first half Pepe Souaré had to be subbed of due to a shoulder injury, I hope it isn’t bad and he has a quick recovery. In the second minute of the game a Grimsby player got send off for a dangerous tackle on Townsend. My man of the match would have to be Jordan Ayew after coming on as a sub and scoring to get the win.

After the match i stayed behind to see the player I saw Sam woods, Jeffery Schlupp, Martin Kelly, Scott Dann, Joel Ward Jordan Ayew, Alexander Sørloth and ex palace player and palace legend Mark Bright. I also saw Cheikhou Kouyaté he gave me his match-worn shirt and signed it which I am extremely grateful for. I met a lovely disabled couple after the match who I was talking to while waiting for the players.

Thank you for reading, I will be posting more game reviews soon.

Ellie X

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive

Search By Tags

Follow Us

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page