top of page

Drake at the O2

Updated: Aug 4, 2023

Hello everyone,

Hope you all well

On Thursday 11th April 2019 I went to Drake's final London date of his assassination vacation tour. I booked the tickets in early March so was very excited when the day came. I went with my mum, my nan and grandad drove us there but went off to do their own stuff while we were in there. On the week leading up some of my friends went so from their videos I saw how good it looked. When we arrived we parked in our pre-booked parking space which was a short walk away from the O2. One of drakes lyrics in Gods Plan is 'And you know me, Turn the O2 into the O3' so the O2 changed the sign outside to say O3 which was cool. Once we got into the arena all the staff were helpful when going through security and taking us to our seats. We got to seats at about 7.20 to find we had an exceptional view, Drake performed on the centre stage and we were roughly 16 feet from the stage just behind the standing audience. The disabled people had their own waiter who got our food and drinks so we didn't have to leave this was helpful as we didn't have to enter crowed or miss anything. Due to it being the last tour date in England many amazing talents came out. The first performer came out at around 7.30 and if I'm honest it was someone I didn't know 😬, he was out for about 30 minutes. Then Tory Lanez Drakes official support act for his assassination vacation tour and performed his song including LUV which is one of his most popular songs, his vocals were phenomenal live. He later bought out Stefflon Don to perform with him and she performed her single Hurtin’ Me. There was then a break until the main man came out. At 9pm Drake came out his first song was 8 out of 10, when he came out a transparent box came down over him which had images of palm trees and scorpions (which is the name of his album) on it to create effects. Throughout the whole night I could feel the beats on the floor going through my chair. Drake performed many song from throughout his career. My favourites were Look Alive, Nice for what, Jumpman, going bad, Controlla, in my feeling and Gods plan. He performed a few songs before having a break in which another support acts came out who were NSG I have wanted to see them in ages so this was very good. Then drake came back out to finish his show, he performed many more song and bought out the final performers Dave who I have also wanted to see in ages and last but not least J Cole they were both amazing. Drake finished the night by performing Gods Plan which contains the lyrics ‘turn the O2 into the O3’ which at this point everybody was going crazy, there was a firework display during the song which topped the night off. Loads of confetti was released I got covered and we are still finding it in my chair today 😂. The night was then over and we went home it was pretty easy to leave the O2. We didn't arrive home until 1am but it was definitely worth it and I can’t wait for Drake to return to the UK.

Thank you for reading

Ellie X

Comments


Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive

Search By Tags

Follow Us

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page